The Delegate Wranglers announced as 2022 miaList finalists

The Delegate Wranglers announced as 2022 miaList finalists

Published by Neil Thompson

15th August 2022

Published by Neil Thompson
15th August 2022

The Delegate Wranglers have made the short list in the Team of the Year (Events & Operations) category for the Meetings Industry Association’s 2022 miaList. with the prestigious awards receiving a record-breaking number of nominations this year.

Now in its twelfth year, the coveted list recognises inspiring individuals and teams who continually go the extra mile and play a pivotal role in making their business meetings and events organisations so successful.

The 2022 miaList individual finalists for the ten positions are:

  • Alistair Graham, emc3
  • Andrew Syson, The Studio
  • Charlotte Podlewska, Conference Leeds
  • Clare Barnbrock, Edgbaston Park Hotel & Conference Centre
  • Georgia Suttie, Agiito
  • Gerald Victoire, Richmond Hill Hotel
  • Graham Proctor, Sodexo NUFC
  • Katie Niland, The Belfry Hotel & Resort
  • Lucy Anderson, Sodexo Live at St James' Park
  • Luke Balcombe, Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
  • Mark Collins, Manchester Central
  • Michael Ward, Crowne Plaza Stratford Upon Avon
  • Mike Palmer, The Studio
  • Mike Large, Pavilions of Harrogate
  • Simon Willis, Yarnfield Park - The Venues Collection

New for this year, the 2022 miaList will feature dedicated Sustainability and Best Innovation accolades as well as a Supplier of the Year and a Venue of the Year title. These finalists include:

Sustainability, sponsored by Green Meetings:

  • Agiito
  • Barbican
  • Moor Hall Hotel & Spa
  • The Wellbeing Farm
  • Wyboston Lakes Resort

Best Innovation, sponsored by totem:

  • Meetingspro – Agiito
  • Mindful Meetings – Moor Hall Hotel & Spa
  • Tyne to Get Back To Business – NewcastleGateshead Convention Bureau

Supplier of the Year:

  • Events500
  • First Travel Solutions
  • Off Limits Events Professionals
  • The Events Company

Venue of the Year:

  • Hilton Birmingham Metropole
  • Millennium Point
  • The Belfry Hotel & Resort
  • The Eastside Rooms
  • The Exchange - University of Birmingham

Other titles, which will be recognised at the ceremony being hosted at Hilton Birmingham Metropole on 17 November 2022 after the mia’s REIGNITE conference, include three team awards that will be subject to an online vote. These finalists include:

Team of the Year (Events & Operations):

  • Agiito
  • emc3
  • Manchester Central
  • The ACC Liverpool Group
  • The Delegate Wranglers

"To say we are delighted to be in the short list for this prestigious award is a massive under-statement. I'm so proud of every member of the DW team who has played their part in making this a super successful year for us and to even be in the company of the other finalists, is a huge honour for us. Congratulation to every single person or organisation short-listed in all the categories and massive thanks for the MIA for putting it all together so well"

Neil Thompson, Founder of The Delegate Wranglers

Team of the Year (Sales and Marketing):

  • venues
  • Park Plaza Hotels
  • Regent's Conferences & Events
  • The Grand Brighton and Richmond Hill Hotels
  • Whittlebury Park

Team of the Year (Destination), sponsored by Simple View:

  • Liverpool Convention Bureau
  • Meet Cambridge
  • NewcastleGateshead
  • Visit Belfast

Kerrin MacPhie, chief executive of the mia, said: “We are absolutely delighted to have received the highest level of nominations for the miaList since our roll of honour commenced in 2011. The calibre of entries has been exceptionally high, and we are looking forward to shining a spotlight on the business meetings and events industry’s finest talent at our celebratory event in November.”